“Growing” Used to Clean Shaven: Thoughts on the Post-Movember Blues

1

December 3, 2012 by pfrancis207

Change is good... Sometimes

Change is good… Sometimes.

It has been three days since my mustache and I decided to go our seperate ways, which came as a shock to a great many around the campus of Westfield State University. I felt that a change was in order, as I have several jobs I have applied for within the past few weeks, and in the event I am called for an interview, I want to be able to look as professional as possible.

Which is not to say that a handlebar mustache isn’t a professional look. It’s just not THE professional look I’m after. It is viewed as a novelty look more than anything else, which is exactly what I am trying to impress upon potential employers that I am not: a novelty employee.

I’ll be the first to say that the mustache is making a comeback in American culture. At a time when many men dress in a more European manner of clothing with a wardrobe of tighter clothes, perhaps the mustache’s return is a way for the manliest of men to keep their hyper-masculinity intact. The Movember initiative has seen a great rise in mustache numbers worldwide, as XY chromosomes around the globe have banded together to beat prostate and testicular cancer once and for all.

But the mustache isn’t all the way back yet. It is still viewed with skepticism and distaste from some women, while men are almost certain to applaud it. Women fail to realize what goes into growing an awesome ‘stache and I can’t say that I blame them: they spend their entire lives trying to remove hair from their bodies, so how can you expect them to respect the deliberate growing of hair on the most visible part of the body?

It is because the mustache is still on the fringes of American society that we must part again, if only for a few months (or until I find gainful employment). It is very difficult to go into an interview setting, a place where one must have complete confidence in their abilities and appearance, if they are self-conscious about their naked upper lip. There is a reason why I got rid of it as soon as Movember was over: because I wanted to give myself the longest adjustment period possible.

I feel that there is enough of a movement to swing the mustache back into popular circulation within the next few years. It will return to a glorious revival, in which men proudly sprout hair on their upper lip for more than just one month a year, when college aged-men can walk into a bar free of the stigma of looking like they are 40 (because every man in the bar will have a mustache. The age illusion only occurs if you’re the only guy in the room with a mustache). Life will be good for the manliest of men.

But until that time, I am clean shaven. Or at least till I find a job.

One thought on ““Growing” Used to Clean Shaven: Thoughts on the Post-Movember Blues

  1. bbator1123 says:

    I have tried time and time again to grow a great moustache and beard, but, alas, my face does not like to grow a thick beard. I had to shave my face early too because of work. Maybe next year will be my year!

Leave a Reply

